Initiated in November 2012 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in three categories. The shortlist selection was made by Amanda Maddox, associate curator in the Department of Photographs at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Joanna Milter, director of photography at the New Yorker, Drew Sawyer, Phillip Leonian and Edith Rosenbaum Leonian Curator of Photography at the Brooklyn Museum, Lesley A. Martin, creative director of Aperture Foundation and publisher of The PhotoBook Review, and Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo.

See the full shortlist of the 2019 Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards here.

The shortlisted books will be profiled in issue 017 of The PhotoBook Review, Aperture Foundation’s biannual publication dedicated to the consideration of the photobook. The PhotoBook Review is available for free at Aperture Gallery and Bookstore and is mailed to all Aperture magazine subscribers.

The winners in each category, as determined by a final jury,  were announced at Paris Photo on Friday, November 8, 2019. The jury includes Irene Attinger, curator; Osei Bonsu, Curator of International Art at Tate Modern; Emma Bowkett, Director of Photography at FT Weekend MagazineTakashi Homma, artist; and Nina Strand, editor and founder, Objektiv Press.

Aperture Foundation

547 West 27th Street, 4th Floor

New York, N.Y. 10001